Click here to view our Antonine College 2023 Annual

Latest News

SACCSS AFL Senior Boys Grand Final

Wednesday, June 21, 2023

On Friday the 16th of June, the SACCS Boys AFL Grand Final was played between Antonine College and St Francis. The much-anticipated showdown took place at the Green Gully Reserve in Keilor, where 22 excited boys were ready to finish off a culmination of a thrilling season. After weeks of intense competition and hard-fought battles, the grand final offered the perfect stage for the ultimate display of talent and passion.

From the opening whistle, it was evident that both teams were eager to claim the premiership. The atmosphere was electric, the Antonine boys were playing hard and were determined to win. Unfortunately, the nerves of the Antonine players got the better of them and at half time, Antonine was down by 3 goals. The half time motivational speech seemed to work, yet was not enough, as Antonine was still down at 3 quarter time. As the grand final football match came to an end, it served as a testament to the power of teamwork, dedication, and the spirit of competition. With 8 minutes left of the game, the boys found some strength and fought hard. They scored 3 goals to win the final by 10 points, beating St Francis 57-47, what a win.

The boys showcased excellent teamwork, spirit, strength and worked together to support each other and showed true Antonine spirit. We congratulate and thank Shaban Mouhamad. Shaban unfortunately was injured mid-season and was unable to play, however helped coach the boys to the premiership win. His excellent ability to lift the team and implement excellent AFL tactics was fantastic. We congratulate and thank Zane Mouhamad and Ali Khairbak who co-captained the boys in the final. Their leadership skills brought the team together to dig deep and get the win. We commend Mouhammed El Hayek who was awarded the Peer Award by St Francis and Zane Mouhamad who received the umpires award for Best on Ground, he played brilliant.

We thank Jye Craggill and Angela Douvitsas who were the dedicated staff who coached the boys for the season. From the coaches themselves, it was an honour to coach the boys and see them all succeed.

We congratulate the following boys for a fantastic season and premiership win!

  • Anthony Abou Zeid
  • Gerges Diab
  • Nabil El-Hassan
  • Mouhammed El Hayek
  • Parlo Elisha
  • Alex Farah
  • George Fakhoury
  • Esa Ibrahim
  • Ushae Ibrahim
  • Marc Issa
  • Yacoub Issa
  • Lucas Jajou
  • Marcus Jajou
  • Ali Khairbak
  • Jamil Majzoub
  • Salah Mohamad
  • Rabie Mouhamad
  • Gabriel Mouhamad
  • Zane Mouhamad
  • Michel Sleiman
  • Zaya Zado
  • Jeremey Zakhour

Go Back